Homophobia

May 17th is “International Day Against Homophobia”. I sit here and reflect on my experiences with Homophobia and realize that I’ve been very lucky and haven’t experienced anything too extreme. I’ve experienced the dirty looks and the name calling..Lesbo, Dyke, Muff-diver, etc. My relationship has gone through moments of not being recognized as important as others in the family. No one cares about my Anniversary. We’re very proud of our 13 year milestone coming up in September but will I get a card like my sister does on her anniversary? No. Believe me, if we could get married in Rhode Island and it would be recognized as equal, we would..but I wonder still, even if we did get married…would I get a card? It’s those silly things that make me feel different. I know people who have experienced the extreme. I know a gay male who went into a neighborhood gay bar on a friday night to have a few drinks with friends and ended up with a hatchet in his head. A man just walked into this bar (a bar that I’ve been in), asked if it was a gay bar, started swinging a hatchet and then fired a gun at random people. Can any of you even imagine the horror? What could have stirred such hatred? This was 4 years ago…have we moved forward? Have we educated people enough? Does it help to educate? Personally, it’s helped me. I have no issues with anyone asking me questions about my relationship as long as they are truly interested in getting to know me and the questions are respectful. In the gay community, we have a responsibility…a responsibility to pave a way for the young Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgendered. Regardless of sexual preference, as humans walking on the same ground, if we strive to live our lives with truth, integrity, and morals…it will only make it easier for those who follow behind us. That is why it’s important to show respect to gain respect. I’m not saying that we shouldn’t be who we are…because everyone, gay or straight should be the person that they’re meant to be without fear of being humiliated or violently attacked. There is NO excuse for hate and unfortunately, hate is one of those things that never seems to go away no matter how hard we try…but we have to keep trying. PRIDE. Be proud of who you are and the relationships that you have. Live in your truth. Don’t just claim to live in your truth. Gay pride is a strong action and should not be just about wearing your rainbow colors, it’s the way you feel inside and having it exude out of your pores…you will shine if you truly are proud of the person you are. Those of you who know someone who is Gay…a friend, a family member, a co-worker…be tolerant, communicate, get informed…reach out…you’ll be surprised at what you can gain. You’ll find there is no difference in our daily lives…really. I bet we have more in common than you think.

So, if you’re reading this and you’d like to join me in participating in the International Day Against Homophobia…please wear a black t-shirt on Monday, May 17th…wear the shirt, wear your pride…let’s unite and bring down the walls of hate and ignorance.

Read more:

http://homophobiaday.org/

~ by ribettefan on May 15, 2010.

8 Responses to “Homophobia”

  1. I’ll be wearing my shirt with you in pride sis…

  2. wearing my shirt, writing on my arms. Just wish there was more I could do. Great blog, as usual.

  3. Count me in My Friend……. I will wear my black T-Shirt Proudly!!!

  4. I did it.. nobody at work had a clue why.. BUT.. I was in black 🙂

Leave a comment