The Heart Of The Matter

I was scheduled for jury duty today and it ended up being cancelled so…I’m driving around in my car, figured I’d head to the office, plugged my iPod in and placed it on shuffle. Some down time to enjoy my incredibly good taste in music. Ha ha! Well, the damn songs coming through my speakers this morning were freaking me out!! SERIOUSLY! Ok…when I started this blog a few weeks ago, I named it…”Finding My Kubrick a journey”…and it’s becoming just that! A journey of self discovery. It frightens me at times and I wonder why at this time in my life this is happening? Am I dying? Hopefully not but I’m feeling a spiritual tug…someone/something is pushing me to reflect. So, I’m not going to fight it…I’m just going to go with the flow and let it happen.

The Heart Of The Matter by Don Henley

Wow…such a masterpiece lyrically. It’s about a man who has just learned that the woman he had once loved has found another…putting a finality on the ended relationship. It’s a love letter to her…reflecting on what happened to “them”. So many beautiful thoughts run through this song…you can cut it up and make the lyrics about life in general, not just about a wrecked up relationship.

“The more I know, the less I understand
All the things I thought I knew, I’m learning again
I’ve been tryin’ to get down
to the heart of the matter
But my will gets weak
and my thoughts seem to scatter
But I think it’s about…forgiveness
Forgiveness”

Forgiveness…what a powerful word and action! To be able to completely forgive is not easy. But we must…you have to in order to move on with your life without harboring ill feelings…besides, it’s what makes people old. I’m TELLING you! A few years ago..I truly felt old. A crotchety old lady living inside the shell of a 40-year-old. I was holding onto this shit…some of it small and ridiculous and some of it huge and lifelong. My partner, who has the delightful experience of hearing my innermost thoughts *I’m snickering as I write this*…told me that I needed to let this crud go. I knew she was right. So, I started with the HUGE first and worked down to the teensy grudges that I’d been holding onto. It allowed a wall to come down that I, unknowingly had put up for quite some time. However, I said forgive…that does not mean that I’ve forgotten. Forgetting makes us naive and naked of the life experience. 

 “these times are so uncertain
There’s a yearning undefined
and people filled with rage
We all need a little tenderness
How can love survive in such a graceless age?

I have to admit, that the past 10 years could make you lose faith in Humanity. People are losing it…9/11, WAR, Columbine, Virginia Tech, Child Rapists and Killers, Mothers killing their own children…the news is excruciating to watch. I’m a news freak and it’s probably not a good idea that I’m so connected to the media but I can’t help it. So, yes, because of this, I need the Tenderness….I LOVE the tenderness! A touch…a smile…a hug…a tender kiss…soft words…the love of a child, innocent and pure, just a pat on the head makes them smile. Love CAN survive…try a little tenderness. People will react accordingly.

I’ve been trying to get down
to the heart of the matter
But everything changes
and my friends seem to scatter
But I think it’s about…forgiveness
Forgiveness

Todays reflection…FORGIVENESS and TENDERNESS.

Thank you kindly, Mr Henley

~ by ribettefan on March 15, 2010.

2 Responses to “The Heart Of The Matter”

  1. Love it . . .

  2. One more thought — I think there are a lot more “news junkies” than there were pre-9/11. During that time, we logged on and saw the horrifying images; it’s almost as if we’re still looking for either more of those images (possibly to make it more real, since it seemed so surreal) or the next big story.

Leave a comment